Kling 4.0 vs Kling 4.0 Flash: How the Two Announced Versions Differ

Quick answer: Kling 4.0 and Kling 4.0 Flash were announced together on September 28, 2026 and split the work by volume. Kling 4.0 Flash is the lighter one: takes of 3–20 seconds, 720p output only, 8-bit SDR, text-to-video, first-frame and Omni Reference modes, and no first-and-last-frame or multi-keyframe control in the announcement. The full Kling 4.0 goes to 3–30 seconds and 4K, adds first and last frame plus up to 10 keyframes, up to 15 Omni References, stereo audio in 9 languages and a video-editing pass. Flash opened to a limited group of creators on announcement day; the full version was announced for October with no date, and as of October 15, 2026 neither price had been published. Everything below is the officially announced specification.
Still from “The Last Envelope”, an AI short drama generated end-to-end by SceneMixer (6 characters, 1 episode)
Sample: “The Last Envelope” — Realistic HD, 1 episode, produced end-to-end by SceneMixer from the script · watch the episodes

Two models, one announcement

The still above is from The Last Envelope, a series episode produced end to end on this site.

Kling announced both models on September 28, 2026 on its model-release page. They are not two sizes of the same release: the announcement positions Kling 4.0 Flash as the version built for high-frequency creation and the full Kling 4.0 as the flagship of the generation. Flash opened the same day as an early-access preview for a limited batch of creators; the full version was announced for October with no day named.

As of October 15, 2026 we found no report of the full version going live, no open API, and no published pricing for either model. So the honest comparison today is a comparison of announced specifications — which is still enough to answer the practical question, because the two versions were announced with different jobs.

The announced specifications, side by side

Where the announcement does not state a figure for Flash, this table says so rather than filling the gap.

Kling 4.0 Flash (announced)Kling 4.0 (announced)
Take length3–20 seconds3–30 seconds; extension to 2 minutes coming soon
Resolution720p only720p, 1080p and 4K
Colour8-bit SDR10-bit HDR at 1080p and 4K, announced as coming soon
Frame controlFirst-frame image-to-video; no first-and-last-frame and no multi-keyframe control in the announcementFirst and last frame, plus up to 10 keyframes anywhere on the timeline
ReferencesOmni Reference, limits not announcedOmni Reference: up to 15 per task — 10 images, 5 videos (30 seconds combined), 7 subjects (up to 3 video subjects), plus a voice
AudioNot stated in the announcementStereo with tighter lip sync; lines and on-screen text in 9 languages with accents and dialects
EditingNot stated in the announcementUp to 5 input clips (one main), 30 seconds in total; re-edit a single expression, camera, background or line
StatusEarly access for a limited group of creators from September 28, 2026Announced for October 2026, no date; not released as of October 15, 2026

Read the blanks as blanks. “Not stated” means the announcement did not cover it — not that Flash cannot do it. Specifications like that are usually confirmed at general release, and that is the moment to re-check this table.

What 20 seconds versus 30 seconds changes

The length gap looks small and is not. A take is one continuous generation: everything inside it keeps its own continuity for free, and every place you have to join two takes is a place where framing, light or a face can drift.

Take a 90-second vertical episode. On a 30-second ceiling the beat structure fits in three to four takes; on 20 seconds it is five or more, and the difference shows up as extra joins to check. For shots that are simply long — a slow push-in, a walk-and-talk, a door opening onto a reveal — the 30-second ceiling is the difference between one take and an edit.

Neither number is a promise about quality inside the take; longer generations are harder, not easier. It is a production-arithmetic difference, and it favours the full version when you are shooting dialogue scenes.

What 720p versus 4K changes

Flash renders at 720p. That is a real, usable resolution for a phone feed, and a poor one for a television, a projector, or any edit that crops in — cropping throws pixels away, and at 720p there are few to spare.

The full version was announced at 720p, 1080p and 4K, with 10-bit HDR at the two higher settings marked as coming soon. HDR is the quieter item of the two: it changes how highlights and graded colour survive, which matters for night exteriors and stylised interiors.

The practical split follows the screen: if your destination is a vertical feed, 720p covers it and Flash's price-per-second position is the argument. If any deliverable is watched on a large screen, treat Flash as the draft and the full version as the master.

The control gap is bigger than the length gap

The announcement gives the full version two control layers that Flash does not get: keyframes — up to 10 pinned frames at chosen moments inside the take — and a video-editing pass that takes up to five input clips and can rewrite one expression, one camera move, one background or a single line while leaving the rest untouched.

Those are the features that make a second attempt cheap. Without pinned beats, the way to fix a take is to regenerate it and hope; with them, you change the one moment that missed. If your work is iterative — you know you will dial scenes in over several passes — this layer is why the full version is the one to plan around, assuming the announced capabilities survive to release.

Why Flash exists, and what it is for

“Built for high-frequency creation” is the announcement's own phrase, and it describes a real workflow: many takes, quickly, at a size you can review on a phone. Storyboard previews, timing checks, animatics before the expensive pass, or a steady output of social cuts that do not need a 4K master.

Sketching is not a lesser craft. Most of the cost of a series is in scenes you shoot more than once; a cheap, fast take you can look at is worth more than a beautiful one you were afraid to try. The catch is the ceiling: at 20 seconds and 720p, with no keyframe or editing layer announced, Flash cannot finish a shot that needs to land a beat or survive a crop.

How to choose

What is still unknown

Five things were not settled by the announcement, and each of them can change the choice:

Until those land, the two models are a specification question, not a purchase question. Nothing on this page is a measurement; nobody outside Kling has run a released version.

Each version also has its own page next to this site's pipeline: Kling 4.0 and Kling 4.0 Flash.

What this means for a series pipeline

Whatever happens with these two versions, the shape of the work does not move: a story is broken into episodes, episodes into shots, shots into takes; takes get joined; the joins are where attention goes.

That is how SceneMixer is built: a script becomes an episode outline, the cast is drawn once as reference sheets, every shot is written into a storyboard with its seconds, the people in frame and the line to say, and segments render one at a time and composite into one file per episode. Tiers are chosen per segment and priced per second, with the price shown on the generate button; the current list is on the pricing page.

Longer takes and pinned beats — the direction this announcement points — are exactly what episodic work asks a model to do. When a model like this reaches general release, it is the kind of thing that gets added as a tier here. Until then, this page stays a comparison of what was announced.

The episode asset library showing generated character sheets, location images and prop images
The episode’s asset library: each character, location and prop with its own reference image. Every model choice has to plug into a pipeline that already exists.

Sources

Kling is a trademark of its owner and is named here only to identify the product; SceneMixer is not affiliated with it. Specifications are quoted as announced and may change before release.

Kling 4.0 FlashKling 4.0
Take length3–20 seconds3–30 seconds
Resolution720p720p, 1080p, 4K
Keyframes and editingNot in the announcement10 keyframes, 5-clip editing
Built forHigh-frequency creationFlagship quality and control

FAQ

What is the main difference between Kling 4.0 and 4.0 Flash?

Take length and resolution, as announced: Flash does 3-20 seconds at 720p only, the full version 3-30 seconds at up to 4K, plus keyframes, more references, stereo audio and a video-editing pass that Flash's announcement does not include.

Is Kling 4.0 Flash available now?

It opened on September 28, 2026 as an early-access preview for a limited group of creators. We have not confirmed general availability; check Kling's release page for the current state.

Is the full Kling 4.0 released?

Not as far as we could establish by October 15, 2026. It was announced for October with no specific date, and no pricing or API access had been published.

Can Flash do keyframes?

Not in the announcement. Flash lists first-frame image-to-video but no first-and-last-frame and no multi-keyframe control. Keyframes, up to 10, are announced for the full version.

Does Flash have audio?

The announcement does not say. It may simply not have been covered; treat it as unknown until release notes state it.

Which one should I use for phone-first vertical drama?

By the announced specs, Flash's 720p and 20-second takes cover a vertical feed, and its positioning is high-volume work. If you need takes longer than 20 seconds or any large-screen output, that is the full version's side of the line.

Will Flash be cheaper?

It is positioned as the lighter, high-frequency model, but no prices were published for either version, so the size of the gap is unknown.

Do announced specifications change before release?

Often. Resolution lists and limits can shift, and items marked coming soon can slip past the launch. We date our checks and link our sources so you can see how current this page is.

Does this site have either model as a tier?

No. The video tiers here, with their per-second prices, are listed on the pricing page. Neither version of Kling is one of them; this page covers what Kling announced.

Draft cheap, finish the keepers

Whatever model finishes your shots, the storyboard is what keeps a series straight.

Start a project free

Updated October 15, 2026

Pricing·Novel to Video·Guides·Samples·Alternatives·Answers·Support·Privacy·Terms·Legal·Contact·Affiliate program·© 2026 SceneMixer